Scentsy Bars Wax Melt Reviews - May 2016

May 28, 2016

This is a review of Scentsy Bar Wax Melts from May 2016. Some of these may be new scents, some may be older scents that are still available, some may be "Bring Back My Bar" scents, and some may be discontinued scents.

Amaretto
Notes: An almond scented fragrance sweetened with honey and spice
This scent came back in January 2012 as a "Bring Back My Bar" scent (I don't know the original date that it came out). It's a very sweet creamy milky almond. This smells good! Looking at the scent notes, I think I do smell a bit of honey.
Throw:
3.50

Amazon Rain
Notes: Sweet notes of melon, orange zest, coconut milk and sultry night blooming jasmine
This scent came out in February 2016. I smell coconut and a really sweet fruit, but it's not a tropical scent. There's also a floral in there, and maybe a smidgen of sweet lemon? Looking at the scent notes, it's probably the orange zest that I think is the lemon (although I don't smell orange at all). I guess the sweet fruit is the melon, but it doesn't smell like watermelon at all, maybe honeydew. Melted, I do smell tropical fruit but it's really more of a nice sweet fruit candy scent, and I don't smell floral when melted.
Throw:
3.50

Beach
Notes: Papaya and honeydew sweetened with a hint of coconut
This scent came out in Spring/Summer 2013. I smell sweet coconut, a sweet guava type tropical fruit, and suntan oil. Looking at the scent notes, okay it's papaya and honeydew, not guava. Really nice summery scent. Melted, it's VERY sweet, almost sickeningly sweet. This one needs a large room for sure; that kind of sweetness can't be contained in one room.
Throw:
5.00

Braeburn
Notes: Fresh apple and a luscious assortment of tropical fruit enjoy a sprightly pop of whipped sugar and creamy vanilla.
This scent came out in March 2016. This is a sweet fruity scent with a creamy note, maybe a tropical fruit mixed with melon. It smells like a summer slushie! Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell apple individually, as there are a lot of fruit scents mixed in. Melted though, I smell a slightly bitter note, like grapefruit rind, that gives it a bit of a cat pee vibe. This is the only scent out of all the Scentsy scents I've tried here that I don't like when melted.
Throw:
3.00

Caramel Pear Crisp
Notes: Enjoy the indulgence of sugared pears and juicy nectarines melded together and blanketed by a crumble of golden brown sugar. Above the rich layer of buttery batter sits a generous helping of warm caramel cream
This scent came out in September 2012. Just like the scent name, this smells like pear drizzled in caramel. Yummy! Melted, it has a slight chemical note. It's a nice scent, but there's something slightly off-putting in there.
Throw:
4.50

Citrus Pop
Notes: Bergamot, sparkling mandarin and orange blossom
This scent came out in February 2016. It smells almost exactly like Summer Sunset, but in this one I can definitely smell the lemon and it's a sweet, salty bakery lemon. But there's another note I can't figure out. Looking at the scent notes, maybe the other note is bergamot (I don't know what that smells like), but I don't smell orange blossom at all (which is neroli, a beautiful scent that you'll never forget even if you smell it once). I love this scent, but I swear I smell lemon, and it's not really citrusy. Melted, it's a really rich scent, not very sweet, kind of like lemon pound cake without frosting, and not all that lemony. Hard to describe, but a fantastic scent.
Throw:
5.00

Coconut Pumpkin Pie
Notes: Pumpkin puree, grated nutmeg and maple sugar are heightened by a hint of coconut shavings
This scent came out in September 2015. This smells heavenly. It's a rich sweet caramely pumpkin scent with coconut and a hint of nutmeg. The caramel I smell is actually maple. Melted, I smell mostly a rich buttery coconut, like buttery pie crust with coconut mixed in, but it's not salty like some rich wax scents can be.
Throw:
5.00

French Lavender
Notes: Pure, herbal fragrance of wild lavender from the hills of France
This scent came out in 2013. This is straight lavender, not overly sweet. It's slightly medicinal, but not enough to detract from the scent. It's a nice lavender scent. Scent started dissipating within 1.5 hours.
Throw:
2.75

Key Lime Tortilla
Notes: Lime and kiwi combine for a south of the border sweet treat
This scent came out in 2008 but was brought back as a "Bring Back My Bar" in July 2014. On cold sniff, it's a fantastic sweet creamy milky sugary scent with a lime notes, but also some other fruit that I can't figure out. OK looking at the scent notes, the other fruit is kiwi. When melted though, I just smell slightly salty lime with a bready background, which I don't care for. It smelled better for me on cold sniff.
Throw:
3.75

Lemon Verbena
Notes: Fresh lemon zest with a bright kiffir lime and verbena leaf
This scent came out in March 2014. This is lemon with the soapy herbal lemongrass scent of verbena. Melted, it smells like salty lemon with a lemongrass type herbal note. It's not sweet at all. It's a nice scent, but lemongrass verbena type scents are not my favorites in general.
Throw:
4.00

Luna
Notes: White florals—jasmine, sweet pea and freesia—juicy berries, and sandalwood
This scent came out in March 2011, and it's a favorite among Scentsy enthusiasts. This is a rich warm classy ambery scent with a hint of some kind of dark berry. It smells a lot like ScentSationals Blackberry Cider. This one is supposedly everyone's favorite, and I can see why. Looking at the scent notes, there are the berries, and I think I also smell sweet pea, but no sandalwood.
Throw:
3.00

My Only Sunshine
Notes: Golden tuberose and jasmine balanced by sandalwood, vanilla and glowing amber
This scent came out in December 2015. This is a fruity floral, and very strong on cold sniff. I can't determine the scent notes though, maybe pear? There's also a warmth in the background like a sweet amber. It smells like an expensive feminine perfume. This is another complex scent, and I really like it. Looking at the scent notes, okay I do smell tuberose, not so much jasmine, and there's the amber. And yes, there's a smidgen of milky woodsiness way in the background that's probably the sandalwood. When melted, I don't smell all the complex notes, just a pleasant floral with a perfume vibe but also a smidgen of baby powder, which definitely makes this a bedroom or bathroom scent.
Throw:
3.00

Newborn Nursery
Notes: Fresh, clean, and powdery, this dreamy scent evokes memories of cradling your little ones
This scent came out in Spring/Summer 2007 and brought back as a "Bring Back My Bar" in Spring/Summer 2011. This is 100% baby powder, and it's very strong on cold sniff. When melted, it smells just like it does on cold sniff, like baby powder. I've never found a store bought wax melt with a baby powder scent, and baby powder scented vendor wax I've tried has always had poor throw. So this one is a definite winner for me!
Throw:
4.50

Summer Sunrise
Notes: Savor the stillness of dawn with freshly ground juniper berry, cardamom and a crackle of black pepper, enlightened by aromatic bergamot and cedar
This scent came out in June 2015. I can't figure out what I'm smelling. I think it's cedar but there are other notes in there I can't pin down. Maybe pepper and possibly a smidgen of spruce or balsam. But it's not a Christmasy scent. OK, the scent notes are spot on. This is a nice, unique scent. Melted, it smells like a savory cedar, if that makes sense. It's a nice, intense woodsy cedar, and I think the savory note is the cardamom.
Throw:
3.50

Summer Sunset
Notes: Delight in the sun's last rays as brilliant pomegranate, black currant and rhubarb dissolve into a horizon of sugared lemon and vanilla frost
This scent came out in June 2015. I really like this one. I think I smell plum but there's also a rich succulent strawberry note and a savory note and something warm like amber, but also a very slight perfumey note, and maybe a salty lemon note. Looking at the scent notes, okay pomegranate and black currant, I get that. Rhubarb, that's probably the rich strawberry note I'm getting. And there's the lemon. I don't smell vanilla at all. This is a very complex scent. This scent smells almost exactly like Citrus Pop although a little sweeter.
Throw:
3.50

Comments

Join our Facebook Group for MORE discussions about U.S. store bought and retail brand wax melts.
Join our Facebook Group

Are you a wax melt company (retail, vendor, or sales rep)? Our FREE Review & Promotion Service can help you get more customers.
© Copyright Scented Wax Melt Reviews.
All rights reserved.