Yankee Candle Walmart Wax Melt Reviews - Spring 2017

February 26, 2017

This is a review of Yankee Candle wax melts from Walmart for Spring 2017. The packaging has changed, and now they're in oval shaped clamshells that says "now with more fragrance" at the top. The throw is better too! They can be found at Walmart, as well as some CVS and BJ's Wholesale Club stores.

Despite that the package looks slightly smaller, it's still the same amount of wax (2.6oz.) as the old rectangular packaging (and still the deceptive packaging, with more plastic than wax, and wax that doesn't fill the clamshell to the top). They now sell for $3.43 at Walmart (previously $3.93). As of 2018, some of these wax melts can now be found at Ollie's stores.

I did the video review differently this time from my other reviews (and something I won't do again, because it was very time consuming!) I did a separately video review for each scent.

Above the Clouds

This is a fresh air, shampoo or body wash type scent, maybe more of a men's body wash. It's nice a refreshing scent, but a bit generic in that there are lots of similar scents out there by other companies.
Throw:
3.25

Buttercream Frosting

Notes: The thick white frosting you swirl and smooth across a cake — rich with vanilla and fortified with creamy butter. I also reviewed this scent in February 2016, when it came in the older rectangular package. At that time, I said the throw was around a 2.75 out of 5. So it looks like the throw has indeed improved with the addition of "more fragrance".
This smells more like yellow vanilla cake than buttercream frosting. It's not as sweet and rich as buttercream. It's a nice bakery vanilla scent, pretty standard.
Throw:
3.25

Catch a Wave

Notes: An inviting scent of salt air that will make you want to wiggle your toes in the sand.
This smells like Coppertone suntan oil mixed with a fresh oceany note. It's not a dupe of the regular Yankee Candle Sun & Sand and Yankee Candle Sandcastle, which is a more perfumey Coppertone suntan oil scent without the fresh note. Very nice scent!
Throw:
3.00

Classic Denim

Notes: A clean scent of blue jeans fresh from the laundry and hung up to dry in the sun. Background notes of violet and orange add a brightness to the clean fabric.
A nice sweet floral fabric softener dryer sheet scent. Looking at the scent notes, I think I do detect a smidgen of orange but it's not a citrusy orange, more like a neroli type orange blossom note. I forgot how nice this scent is! Melted, it's a super fresh sweet watery scent with a smidgen of lemon for extra freshness, and that slight orange blossom note that gives it a little bit of warmth, and a little bit of floral and a slight laundry note. But this is not really a true laundry scent. It's fantastic! When I reviewed this scent in February 2016 (when it was sold in the older rectangular package), throw was around a 3.25 out of 5.
Throw:
4.00

Clear Mountain Lake

Notes: A cool scent of lavender with a touch of sage and sandalwood that brings the crisp air of the high mountains home.
This smells like a soapy men's body wash but also has a subtle floral note. Looking at the scent notes, I think I do smell a smidgen of lavender. Melted, it's a nice fresh air bodywash type scent with a hint of lavender, but it smells like a lot of other fresh body wash type scents I have.
Throw:
3.00

Cozy Corner

Notes: Curl up with the fragrance of soft pillows and casual throws on a comforting afternoon.
This is a pleasant warm cashmere fabric softener type scent with a very sweet gardenia or jasmine type floral note. Scent on cold sniff is weak.
Throw:
1.50

Creamy Vanilla Coconut

Notes: Rich and buttery vanilla bean sweetened with the gentle white flavor of coconut.
This is a fantastic rich super sweet buttery vanilla buttercream scent. I can't really smell coconut in this, or if it's there, it's very faint. So even if you don't like coconut scents, you'll love this one if you like sweet confectionary scents.
Throw:
4.00

Exotic Jasmine

Notes: The fragrance of blooming jasmine tamed with tropical citrus into a delicate, relaxing and subtly sweet scent.
This is a lovely authentic jasmine flower scent. It kind of has that "hothouse" flower note that makes it smell realistic, and although it's sweet, it's not overly perfumey, although it has a very slight soapy "bubble bath" note which is nice. I don't smell any citrus or tropical notes at all from the scent description.
Throw:
3.25

Fragrant Spring Meadow

A bright floral perfume scent with an oriental perfume spice note. It's not an authentic flower scent, and it's not overly sweet or girly. It's a "comfy" floral scent, perfect for the bedroom or even the bathroom. Very nice scent.
Throw:
3.50

Freedom's Flag

Notes: A rush of fresh air rippling with driftwood, citrus and musk creates a scent as bright as a flag against a clear blue sky.
I smell a sweet buttercream vanilla mixed with a floral and maybe a slight fresh air note. Looking at the notes, yes I can see the musk, but I don't smell driftwood or citrus at all. It's a very nice scent.
Throw:
2.75

Fresh Apple

Notes: It's that very first slice from a crisp red apple, moist and sweet and so fresh it has a little sharpness. Refreshing!
This is a plain apple scent without any spices or cinnamon. It's not overly sweet, and it's quite authentic although it has a very slight waxy note. It's not very strong on cold sniff, which is unusual for apple scents because they are usually quite strong. It's a nice apple scent, but you can get apple scents in other brands which are cheaper and stronger.
Throw:
3.00

Fresh Citrus

Notes: A blend of sweet orange and tart citrus that refreshes gently.
On cold sniff I smell orange and a bitter grapefruit type scent, with a creamy background, but there's something "off" about the scent, like a fake waxy note. No wait, it smells like pineapple! That's the note that doesn't make sense. It's like pineapple with a bitter grapefruit note. I don't even smell the orange when it's melted. I'm not a fan of pineapple scents in general, but this is a fake chemical pineapple scent with a bitter note, and I don't like it.
Throw:
4.50

Fruit-Tini

Notes: A refreshing mix of fresh citrus with a dash of red cherry that puts a sweet face on the hottest summer day.
On cold sniff, this smells like cherry flavored Hawaiian Punch. It's a sweet fake cherry scent (but in a good way), with a bit of tartness from the citrus. A happy summer scent! Melted, it takes on a bit of a cherry-scented lipstick or makeup type note, which is actually okay because it's a really nice scent.
Throw:
5.00

Island Mango Coconut

Notes: An island fruit cocktail of tangy oranges and pineapple, sweet mango and peaches, and soft white coconut — just add a warm ocean breeze and a colorful umbrella.
This just smells like peach to me, the sweet juicy insides of the peach or peach nectar, but not cloyingly sweet. I don't smell orange or pineapple, and no coconut at all. Maybe on cold sniff a smidgen of pineapple, but if I didn't know it was in the scent notes, I wouldn't detect it. The juicy nectar notes might actually be the mango.
Throw:
4.00

Lemon Cupcake

Notes: Lemon cupcakes fresh from the oven, topped with rich vanilla frosting and a sprinkle of zest.
his is a perfect lemon scent. It's not a kitchen lemon or a lemonade lemon. It's a rich, slightly salty lemon with a smidgen of a bakery note. The scent started dissipating within an hour, and in 2 hours it was gone.
Throw:
3.75

Lovely Lavender

Notes: A field of purple lavender in full bloom with bright sun. There's a gentle breeze bringing sandalwood and sweet powdery vanilla across the afternoon to make it just perfect.
This is a nice lavender scent, not overly sweet, and not medicinal. It's a "clean" lavender, not really authentic, but almost like a lavender scented soap. I don't smell sandalwood or vanilla, although now that I know sandalwood is in the notes I think I detect a woodsy note on cold sniff, but not when melted. When I reviewed this scent in February 2016 (when it was sold in the older rectangular package), throw was around a 2.75. So the "more fragrance" that has been added has definitely made a difference.
Throw:
4.00

Marshmallow Vanilla Squares

This one is a bit weak on cold sniff. I do smell marshmallow, but it smells fake. Thankfully, it smells much better melted than it does on cold sniff. It really smells like sweet marshmallows!
Throw:
3.25

Moonlit Night

Notes: There's a peaceful stillness to this fragrance that comes from a mix of cedar, oak moss, clove and more. It's calm and quiet, crisp but relaxing.
This is the same scent as the regular Yankee Candle Midsummer's Night scent (with the description "masculine blend of musk, patchouli, sage and mahogany cologne" and notes of citrus, herbaceous, woody, bergamot, lime, lavender, pine, floral, cedarwood, vetiver, juniper berry, clary sage, moss). I've loved this scent for a long time. It's a nice men's cologne scent that smells like Drakkar cologne but not as sweet. I do smell the cedar, and there's a soapy note that makes it smells a little like men's body wash. I don't smell cloves, and I'm not sure what oakmoss is. I also reviewed this scent in December 2015 when it was available in the rectangular package, and throw was 4.5 or 5 of 5.
Throw:
4.00

Paradise Found

Notes: The clean scent of island florals blooming in the tropical sun makes any room a vacation destination.
This is a lovely floral scent with maybe a smidgen of laundry, and some other note that I can't figure out, but gives this scent almost a smoky richness. It's a bit weak on cold sniff.
Throw:
2.75

Perfect Margarita

Notes: A wedge of lime, salt along the rim and that unforgettable vacation scent of a perfect margarita
This is the same scent as the regular Yankee Candle Margarita Time scent (with notes of lime, citron, lemon, ginger, peach blossom, tropical fruit, and musk). It's a very nice fresh sweet creamy lime scent. It's not a harsh "industrial cleaner" type lime, and it might have a hint of vanilla in it to give it that creamy note. When I reviewed this scent in February 2016 when it was sold in the rectangular package, throw was around a 3.5 out of 5.
Throw:
3.75

Pink Island Sunset

Notes: Tropical fruits and citrus will have you thinking of gentle trade winds and full, pink sunsets stretching the horizon
This is the same scent as the regular Yankee Candle Pink Sands scent (with scent description "mix of bright citrus, sweet florals and spicy vanilla", and notes of citrus, melon, berry, osmanthus, spicy vanilla, musk, and woody notes). It smells like coconut with a slight fruity note and smidgen of floral and maybe a tiny smidgen of vanilla, kind of like a fresh coconutty shampoo or body wash. It's not overly sweet, and I don't smell citrus. Nice and relaxing, although a little boring, but a lot of people adore this scent. When I reviewed this scent in February 2016 when it was sold in the rectangular package, I said the throw was around a 3 out of 5.
Throw:
3.75

Red Berry & Lime

Notes: Sweet red raspberries, juicy and fresh, meet tart lime in a refreshing combination.
I smell raspberries with a tart note, but the combination smells more like cherries than raspberries (but it's not the same scent as Merry Cherry). It smells more like candy than authentic fruit, which is okay because it's a fantastic, fun happy scent.
Throw:
2.50

Spiced Apple Berries

Notes: Crisp apple sweetened with fresh berries and cinnamon, spiced with a dash of clove
This is a sweet cinnamon apple scent with a hint of red berries (the label shows an apple, cinnamon sticks, and a strawberry and blackberry). It's a nice fall apple berry scent, and the cinnamon is subtle.
Throw:
3.00

Sunlit Leaves

Notes: The fresh, outdoor scent of a lazy afternoon lying beneath the trees and staring at the sunlit leaves above.
I'm not sure what I'm smelling, maybe a fresh air herbal slightly sandalwoody very slightly lemony scent with a hint of sweetness? It's a nice scent, but kind of "non-descript", and I can't figure out the notes.
Throw:
3.00

Sunny Sands

Notes: A bright, fresh scent that mixes citrus and fruit with floral to lift your spirits like a sunny day at your favorite beach.
By the name I assumed this would be a dupe of the Yankee Candle Sun & Sand scent, but it's not. It smells like a combination of that scent (which smells like Coppertone suntan oil) with a slightly sour fruit note. There may also be a smidgen of a floral note. Looking at the scent notes, I don't smell citrus. When I reviewed this scent in February 2016 (when it was available in the older rectangular package), throw was around a 3 out of 5, but the scent fizzled within 2 hours (this one lasted much longer).
Throw:
3.75

Sweet & Salty Caramel

Notes: The buttery, rich scent of soft caramel mixed with butterscotch and topped with just a few crystals of sea salt. Delicious!
I believe this is the same as the Yankee Candle Salted Caramel scent (with description "burnt sugar, sea salt, and smooth vanilla caramel" and notes of dark plum, date, mandarin, burnt sugar, almond blossom, pistachio, sea salt, brown butter, caramel, vanilla bean, balsam, and dark chocolate). This smells so delicious! It's a sweet rich buttery caramel scent, like the sweet inside of a creamy chocolate butterscotch candy; in fact, I swear there's a hint of rich chocolate in there (and there it is in the notes!) It's not overly salty. When I reviewed this scent in December 2015 when it was sold in the rectangular package, I said the throw was a 3 out of 5.
Throw:
5.00

Sweet Lilac

Notes: The unmistakable scent of lilac in bloom — with hot sun on green bushy leaves and a note of rose in the mix.
I believe this is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Lilac Blossoms scent (with notes of dewy greens, hyacinth, water lily, bergamot, lilac petals, tulip bulbs, cedarleaf, vetiver, and moss). This is a lovely authentic lilac scent. On cold sniff there's a sweet slightly perfumey note in the background, but I don't smell that when melted, just an authentic lilac without anything added.
Throw:
3.75

Sweet Peach

Notes: The juicy fragrance of fresh peaches sprinkled with sugar and waiting to be tasted
I melted this scent after the Island Mango Coconut scent (which smells just like peach) to see the difference. This scent smells more like the fuzzy outside of the peach than the juicy inside or nectar. It's more of a peaches and cream type scent, and it has a little bit of that "fake peach" note that smells like peach scented room spray. The Island Mango Coconut scent is more of a bright, juicy, authentic peach scent, which may be because of the mango note.
Throw:
3.25

Time for Tea

Notes: Clean, fresh and inviting—enjoy the comfort of fresh green tea
This is a nice tea scent with a strong lemon note. It doesn't smell like authentic green tea, more like iced tea powder, but it's still very nice. It's not overly sweet, and it kind of smells more like a relaxing spa scent than a foodie scent.
Throw:
5.00

Tropical Sky

Notes: Island air at seaside—clean and tinged with sea salt, tropical blooms and tall palms nearby
This is a fresh air salty water type scent that has almost a slight bitter note in the background. There may be a smidgen of a tropical note, but barely noticeable. It's not overly sweet, but I feel like it should be. It's not a bad scent, but I don't really care for it.
Throw:
3.50

Warm & Happy Home

Notes: Cinnamon and cloves are paired to give every room that feeling of warmth and coziness. It's a fragrance you'll want to return to again and again
I think this is the same scent as the Yankee Candle Home Sweet Home scent (with description "cinnamon, baking spices, and a hint of freshly poured tea", and notes of apple, cinnamon spice, nutmeg, juniper berry, coumarin, and musk). This smells like straight cinnamon with sugar. It's a bit of a "Big Red Gum" type cinnamon with a slight note of cloves, or cinnamon candy. When melted it smells a little better because of the sugar and the cloves. But I'm not a fan of cinnamon scents unless it's a bakery cinnamon, and I'm into spring scents right now!
Throw:
3.50

Wild Blue Indigo

Notes: A sunlit field in bloom with bright wild indigo
I don't know what indigo smells like, but this is a fruity floral that smells like creamy strawberries mixed with a floral. It smells a little bit like fruit scented lipstick or makeup, but in a good way, probably from the perfumey note of the floral.
Throw:
4.50

Comments

Join our Facebook Group for MORE discussions about U.S. store bought and retail brand wax melts.
Join our Facebook Group

Are you a wax melt company (retail, vendor, or sales rep)? Our FREE Review & Promotion Service can help you get more customers.
© Copyright Scented Wax Melt Reviews.
All rights reserved.